Asking help on Tango from a bioinformation newbie

tango
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd53fde9a60>

Dear Sir @ThomasBoudier

I am a bioinformation newbie. I tried to mail you to thomas.boudier@snv.jussieu.fr, but the mail was returned. So I post my question here and wish to get your help. I think Tango is a very good tool for our researcher in Bio field. It is so great that you published it early in 2014.

I am trying to use Tango for measuring cell’s diameter for my research. But I encountered some problem when I was learning using Tango. When I ran the processing in “Field” stage, there is always some java enviroment error like missing imageware class (i guess) (Fig 1 attached). And nucleus doesn’t show correctly and centromeres doesn’t show up in the 3D viewer for the sample image (Fig 2 attached). So I searched the internet and found an announcement titled with “EPFL BIG plugins moved to their own update site” in the ImageJ forum (EPFL BIG plugins moved to their own update site). The announcement mentioned that imageware was isolated because of the license problem.

My question is
1 Is Tango still working?
2 If Tango is still working, do you think the problem I encountered is because of the license problem of imageware?
3 If yes, how can I make Tango work.

You are appriciated if you can help me figure out this problem, since it is very important for my research. I am waiting for your reply.

Thank you and wish your the best

Mable

@ThomasBoudier
I forgot to attache the figures.

@ThomasBoudier
I forgot to attache the figures.

Dear @mable,

TANGO is still working, tough is not so active as it used to be, it is still slowly developed. Thanks for your message I was not aware of the change for ImageWare, note that TANGO uses ImageWare only for LOG filtering, I may suggest alternatives to this filter such as 3D Gaussian or 3D Median.
If you have more questions related to TANGO please contact me directly with the email shown on my plugins webpage 3D ImageJ Suite

Best,