Automated cell measurements identification from binary images

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb87b715fa8> #<Tag:0x00007fb87b715e68>

Hello there,I am a PhD student who is having a lot of problems trying to automate cell counting and measuring from wheat endosperm images. I have used a nice stain that outlines the cells nicely when transformed to a binary image. However I cannot for the life of me configure the analyze particles tool correctly so that it is just the dark areas within the lighter borders that are counted and measured rather than the cell walls themselves. In addition when I try to use the find edge tool fill tool from the binary menu I still don’t have much luck. I have posted the original image and any help or advice would be most appreciated.

Kind regards

Good day Richard,

what may appear beeing nice for the eye need not be nice for machines!

With respect to your image, I fear that the contrast of the cell contours vary too much over the image to give a satisfying binary version where fill holes etc. can successfully be applied.

Maybe color information may be used.

Hi Herbie, Thanks for the reply. I see. The thing is tho is that I have come awfully close to having it done where I duplicate the image and then refer the thresholded duplicate to the original when performing the analyze particle function. However it seems to identify the cell walls in the measurement rather than the space in between! I’m sure it must be a simple modification although I’m just not finding it at the moment! I’m afraid I am a bit of a novice at imageJ and haven’t used the colour information tool.

Sorry Robert,

but there is no “colour information tool”. I just wanted to know whether there is any perhaps helpful color information (staining) in your original image data.

Furthermore, I fear that “filling” the cells in the image requires perfectly closed cell contours and presently I don’t see how to achieve this.