Automating measurement and renaming of selections in ROI Manager

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb87d89e940> #<Tag:0x00007fb87d89e7b0> #<Tag:0x00007fb87d89e5f8>

Hello there!

I have very little experience with Image J and have tried to solve my coding issues by looking online and in this forum. I have made some progress but I am stuck and don’t know whether what I am trying to do is even feasible. Alas, I am hoping someone here can nudge me in the right direction or let me know what I am doing wrong. Any input would be massively helpful :slight_smile:

So, I have a number of images to analyse, which have leaves attached to them, as below:

NB: I am using a .tif file but it wouldn’t upload so I have attached a .jpg version instead.

I first transformed the image into 8-bit and made it binary, so that it would be easier to select and measure each sample. I am measuring the length, width and surface area of each leaf, which I have done by fitting an ellipse and making it centroid. Each row is a different letter (A-E), and each column is a subheading (i-iii). So the first row is A-i, A-ii, A-ii, the second row is B-i, B-ii, B-iii and so on.

I first select each leaf with the wand, then add it to the ROI Manager and select it in the list to rename. I update and repeat this for all the leaves. I was recording a macro of these steps and figured I could simplify it since I’m repeating the same tasks. This is the code I ended up with after doing these steps manually:

setOption("BlackBackground", false);
run("Make Binary");

run("Set Measurements...", "area mean min centroid fit display add redirect=None decimal=3");
run("ROI Manager...");

doWand(666, 462);
roiManager("Select", 0);
roiManager("Rename", "A-i");

doWand(1320, 558);
roiManager("Select", 1);
roiManager("Rename", "A-ii");

doWand(1986, 492);
roiManager("Select", 2);
roiManager("Rename", "A-iii");