Batch processing plug in

plugin
batch-processing
fiji
macro
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd542c176d0> #<Tag:0x00007fd542c17568> #<Tag:0x00007fd542c17428> #<Tag:0x00007fd542c172e8>

Hi there

I am fairly new to ImageJ/Fiji and am wondering if anyone knows of a plugin which will batch process as per the below

1. Threshold image based on pixel intensity
  2. Measure average pixel intensity of each image for comparison

Thanks in advance!
Natasha

Hi Natasha,

you can use the plugin Batch_Process in Process :arrow_forward: Batch :arrow_forward: Macro… , to process a folder of images.

Using the macro recorder you can find the macro language command corresponding to:

• “Threshold image based on pixel intensity” using Auto_Threshold
  • “Measure intensity”, set measurements and use function measure.

All this action are Macro recordable, so you could use the corresponding text command in the Batch_Process.

I recommand you to have a look to this previous topics :

Cheers,

Romain

Hi Romain,

thanks for your response to Natasha’s post. I looked at your previous topics and it suggests that Auto_Threshold has issues with bias. We were planning on setting a threshold based on a positive control and applying that across a series of images from one experiment. Since we will have hundreds to a thousand images, we are looking to batch process as much as possible. So is it possible to record a macro that sets a particular threshold and then apply this to the folder of images? Or is using Auto_Threshold the best option in this scenario?

regards
Paul.

Hi Paul,
Maybe something is not clear enough in the previous topic, it’s not that “Auto_Threshold has issues with bias”, it’s more that you can introduce bias if you use poorly the Auto_Threshold.
What @oburri and I suggest is that:
“If you want to “Measure average pixel intensity” of a channel you should not use the same channel to define the area of measurement.