Best practice for git and plugins as Imaging unit member

dear all,
I know that maybe this is not exactly the correct place where ask the question, anyway I think it’s related to this forum too.

I am quite new to git and as the bioimage analyst of the Imaging unit of my campus we are starting to think to put my plugins and analysis workflows on git; before it seemed that the policy of the institute was to don’t put online those things dont know why.

So the question is: dealing with multiple projects most of the completely not related do you suggest multiple repos one per project or one big repo (like institute_name_bioimageanalysis) with a lot of subproject inside?

I googled a little about it but I think that here I can find how bioimage analyst staff do.

thank you
Emanuele Martini

Hi @emartini,

I would create multiple repos - one for each project, and then create an organization in GitHub and associate the repos with it. Like we’ve done with BoneJ. Here’s how to get started: https://help.github.com/enterprise/2.12/admin/guides/user-management/creating-organizations/

Best regards,
Richard

This place is absolutely appropriate, in my opinion. This forum is where the relevant developer (and facility staff) community gets together, and where exactly those questions like yours can be discussed.

I tend to keep various small scripts in a single repository (with a certain folder structure to keep them tidy), but when a project matures, it is often worth having a dedicated repository for each workflow, so that versioning (with or without Maven) gets easy – and eventually you can bundle related scripts into a single, versioned jar and use continuous integration to deploy it to the maven repository.

In any case, I agree with @rimadoma, there’s nothing bad about having a lot of repositories managed under a common github “organization”. In the end, it’s a matter of taste, and what turns out to work best for you over time…

Figure I’d add my two cents to the discussion.