BoneJ Particle Analyzer Macro commands

bonej
segmentation
macro
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd540890f90> #<Tag:0x00007fd540890568> #<Tag:0x00007fd540890360>

Hi all,
Simple question: I would like to use BoneJ’s Particle Analyzer in an IJ1 Macro script.The plugin doesn’t seem to be macro recordable, so how do I call it with user specified parameters from a script? Is there a python/javascript fix for this? I have no background in either of those, so I would be grateful for any guidance or links to manuals, etc for how to script in those languages.

@mdoube I saw your replies to other BoneJ questions, would you happen to have a solution to this?

Hello Feriel,

You can call the plugin with the macro command run("Particle Analyser"). Unfortunately this still requires user interaction, i.e. clicking the dialog buttons. The plugin doesn’t parse arguments from the run command.

A Python or Javascript can access all the public methods of a Java class, so this opens up more options. For example, you could call the method getParticles(), which returns the particle labelling and sizes. However many of the methods for further particle analysis such as Euler characteristic or thickness are not exposed in the Java API, and thus not accessible from a script.

Best Regards,
Richard

Thanks for the quick reply @rimadoma ! My main need for Particle Analyzer is to use it as a 3D size filter that can check for connectivity of objects between slices, compute size, exclude small objects and retain large ones. This is just one step in a much longer script that batch processes and runs through multiple z-stacks, so it would be inconvenient for the user to interact with dialog boxes for stack after stack.