Calculate bubble areas in a foam picture. How to fill all holes?

edge
macro
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd541f55398> #<Tag:0x00007fd541f55168>

I am beginner of ImageJ. Currently I am calculating bubble areas in attachment. When I make image binary and fill holes, I get an Image which you can see in the second file attached. There are still a lot of bubbles(holes) needed to be filled in order to calculate their area, the reason is that some circles are disconnected. Does anyone know how to make these circles connected or other ways to calculate bubble area in the first file attached?

You want something like this, no? Or more precise edge detection, maybe. I am new to measuring bubbles.

It’s missing the elongated bubble in the top right, and there are some artefact ROIs between bubbles (38, 101). But these are easily removed.

Total surface area is 166777.

Yes, sure. That’s exactly what I want. Of course, it would be better to be more precise. Could you please tell me how you manage to do it?

I will get back to you once I’m on my computer, but the really quick work I did for this example pic:

Process >> Find edges

Process … fill holes.

Analyze particles, set size to smallest to largest bubbles. Set desired circularity of bubbles.

Then simply measure the area of this selection.

Maybe I applied some more preprocessing, I will get back to you with details.

HTH,
Sverre

thanks, following your steps, I still can’t get desired results and I don’t know which step I miss.

This is what i did from the macro recorder, play around with different filters and the analyze particles parameters to see if you can improve it. You can also try the trainable weka segmentation, it is well documented and you will find guides on youtube!

run("Find Edges");
    run("Make Binary");
    run("Fill Holes");
    selectWindow("bubbles.JPG");
    run("Analyze Particles...", "size=200-16000 circularity=0.28-1.00 show=Outlines display summarize add");