Cephalometric analyser

x-ray
bone
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd547bd9d08> #<Tag:0x00007fd547bd9b00>

Hello Guys!

I’m new to ImageJ so I ask your help in composing a cephalometric analyser. It is too complicated to me and I don’t know how to begin. I’m trying to explain what I want to make.

Is it possible with ImageJ to assign several points (red on the attached picture) in a previously given order, then the program should construct reference lines using these. First reference line is FH what connects Or-Po points, the next one is PTV what goes through PT point and perpendicular to the previously constructed FH line. The third is perpPTV what goes through +6d point and perpendicular to PTV line. Where PTV and perpPTV intersects is called I point.

The goal is to export:

• x and y coordinates of the assumed points,
  • the distance between +6d and I point,
  • the measured angle between FH and Or-I line (Or-I is not marked on the pic)

Anykind of assistance would be extremely appreciated.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely, Csaba

Perpendicular distance between 2 lines/shortest distance between 2 lines

Hello Csaba,
a preliminary question:
are the red points putted by hand, right?
thank you,
have a nice day
Emanuele

Hello Emanuele,

Thank you for the answer. Yes, the red points are set by hand.
Do you have any ideas how to partially or totally sole the case or just how to begin?

Thanks in advance.

Csaba

Hello Csaba,
I have some ideas about how to solve your analyisis.
I am so sorry but in this week I am really busy at work, so at the moment I don’t have time to reply.
I promise that as soon as I have some free time, I’ll come back and write you;)

In any case I think that I would face this analysis letting the user places one point by one point by hand, and as soon as possible draw lines and calculate your parameters with some math and trigonometry.
I think that it is not really hard, but at the moment I have no time to write down a code:(

Have a nice day,
Emanuele