Changing memory allocation has no effect

import
memory
fiji
bio-formats
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb87bc94f88> #<Tag:0x00007fb87bc94e48> #<Tag:0x00007fb87bc94d08> #<Tag:0x00007fb87bc94ba0>

Hello,

This is my first time posting to the forums, so I apologize if I am missing information or unclear. I am having a problem with Fiji memory allocations. I am running Fiji on a windows machine that has 16GB of RAM available to use (and a graphics card with 8GB). My processor is an intel core i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz. I’m not sure how to attach screen shots (or if that is possible), but my version says 2.0.0-rc-61/1.51n, Java 1.8.0_66[64-bit]

I have tried setting the memory in Fiji to be higher but the Memory monitor consistently displays that it is only using 5-10% of whatever I set, and 0-3 threads (even though the default that it set for me was 8). I’m trying to use bioformats importer to create hyperstacks and it is painfully slow when I have anything over 80 stacks. My movies can range anywhere from 30 to well over 200 stacks (the latter are usually 1-2GB in size). I think the computer I’m using should be able to handle these images just fine, but I just can’t seem to get Fiji to take advantage of the full processing power, and I’m not sure why.

I checked the ImageJ.cfg and it reflects the changes I make in the GUI. For instance, this is the most recent version of it, when I tried setting it to 10GB.

jre\bin\javaw.exe
-Xmx10000m -cp ij.jar ij.ImageJ

Are there any other ways to figure out what is causing the memory discrepancy?
Or am I just missing some important point?

Thank you,
Ani

Welcome to the forum, @anivarj!

Some thoughts in random order:

• When you click the status bar, how much memory does ImageJ say is being used?

• Have you read over this troubleshooting section about memory?

• Have you tried checking the “Use virtual stack” option in the Bio-Formats import dialog?