Confocal Laser Scanning Microscope HELP!

fluorescence
bonej
fiji
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb8828f9c00> #<Tag:0x00007fb8828f9958> #<Tag:0x00007fb8828f9700>

Hi,

I have taken some confocal laser scanning microscope images of bovine enamel by dying with a fluorescent dye. This will cover all the surface and fill small porosity into the enamel. I would love to quantify some volumes or surface areas of these pores through the space filled by the dye. I this possible firstly? I have been scouring the web and this forum and to no avail through my lack of knowledge on the subject or there not being a clear method. I am a new researcher to the field of image processing and would love any assistance any one can give.

I have attached the data into a google drive folder below:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/16ZWzcQKyVY6lena5zgSEzvc8X-MXXb0X?usp=sharing

Thanks in advance
Mathew

Yes it’s possible but you have to be careful that your imaging conditions give you sufficient resolution in all the dimensions that you’ll need to do the measurements. Confocal has relatively much worse resolution in z than in xy (especially at low magnification) which makes volume measurements problematic. If the enamel pores are basically linear, you may be better off estimating pore quantity in 2D, e.g. by length of pore per area, rather than by volume.

Dental enamel is also highly scattering (that’s why your teeth are white), so it would help your protocol a lot if you can work out a clearing method to reduce scatter. A glycerol/ethanol/water combo might do it, or the dental histology literature may recommend something suitable.

Thanks for replying Michael,