Debugging & Understanding Macro

batch-processing
segmentation
macro
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb87d5bb908> #<Tag:0x00007fb87d5bb7a0> #<Tag:0x00007fb87d5bb610>

Hi all, I am new to image J. I have a large quantity of images that I would like to process in the same fashion. This includes a pre-processing technique followed by running a plug in, all which I would like to complete with set values I have chosen. I was hoping that a macro would seamless record the steps I took and apply it to the image I am testing it on, but of course it isn’t so :slight_smile: It seems to want me to manually enter values in pop-up windows and then the image needed to continue to the next processing step isn’t made yet and the macro fails. Also, how might I easily save the data output for each image to be analyzed? I have three images of each category which I would like to analyze. All help is greatly appreciated.

Here is an explanation of the manual steps I would take:
File > Open > Image
Image > Type > 8-bit
Image > Adjust > Brightness/Contrast
Process > Filters > Median > Radius = 1 pixels, Preview
Process > Subtract Background > Rolling ball radius = 20 pixels, Preview
Plugins > Morpholibj > Fill Holes (Binary/Gray)
Plugins > Morpholibj > Segmentation > Morphological Segmentation
Object Image
Tolerance = 50
Review results on Display Overlaid dams
Display Watershed Lines
Create Image
Analyze > Set Scale 1 Pixel/_ Known Distance (unit of length) > OK
Analyze > Set Measurements > Area, Area Fraction, Centroid, Feret’s diameter, Stack position, Display Label > Okay
Analyze > Analyze Particles
Adjust circularity (.25-1) and size constraints (20-inf) to include desired particles
Show: Masks
Include holes

Here is a copy of the text for the macro (note that the set scale step is to be updated):

run("8-bit");
//run("Brightness/Contrast...");
run("Enhance Contrast", "saturated=0.35");
run("Apply LUT");
run("Close");
run("Median...", "radius=1");
run("Remove Outliers...");