How to find memory leaks in plugins / what needs to get disposed?

Hey all,

I am trying to find memory leaks in one of our plugins and wanted to ask for best strategies.

When calling the plugin in a loop over and over again, RAM was used until it is out of memory.

I was able to free resources by calling dispose() on some objects. I read that in Java it is generally not necessary to destroy objects, but for example DatasetView has a dispose() function that needs to be called at the end I think.

RAM usage is better now, but calling the plugin in a loop still throws a java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: GC overhead limit exceeded after a while. Running System.gc() after each plugin call did not help.

I read the section about Debugging Memory Leaks in the Wiki, here are two screenshots, not sure where to go from here.

Screenshot_2018-04-02_10-43-07

Screenshot_2018-04-02_10-43-36

This looks to me like threads get accumulated and cause the issue - but I am new to this so I’m not sure. The plugin creates threads in this fashion:

ExecutorService pool = Executors.newSingleThreadExecutor();
pool.submit(..)
pool.shutdown();

Multiple topics, sorry… These are my general questions:

• What is the best way to tell if a plugin is leaking memory? Can I do this with a JUnit test or something?
  • How do I know which classes have special dispose functions, especially in ImageJ / imglib2?
  • How to dispose ExecutorService threads correctly / could this be a cause for GC overhead limit exceeded?

Ok I will document what I tried so far, feel free to intervene, this is all pretty new to me and I want to learn and get better.

So I minimized my test code and got the first GC overhead caused by creating the ImageJ instance in the loop:

for(int i = 0; i < 1000; i++) {
	ImageJ ij = new ImageJ();
}

Result: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: GC overhead limit exceeded after ~200 loops.

The GC is able to handle it if I add a pause:

Thread.sleep(500);
}