Image processing on the fly with Micro Manager

micro-manager
plugin
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd5432654b0> #<Tag:0x00007fd543265348>

Hi Guys,

I would like to implement image processing on the fly, as I acquire images from my scope.
To help me with that I have installed Micro-manager.

The tasks I want to implement in line, I already do offline using a combination of ImageJ for image processing, and Igor (Wavemetrics) for signal processing.
Essentially, I would like to measure the average intensity of any given frame, obtain their difference between two consecutive frames and plot this value over time.

I have never engaged in such a project, where I am working on the data as it comes out from the camera, and I am not very experienced as a programmer.

Can anyone please tell me how difficult this is to implement?
Can anyone share some ideas, or resources that might be useful for this?
Some useful documentation and examples that would help a novice towards this would be of great help.

Many thanks,

Ricardo

There was a (lengthy) discussion about interaction between MicroManager and KNIME between Karl Bellve (@kbellve), @gab1one and @dietzc on gitter recently, starting around here:

Maybe the involved people want to comment here? (I just invited Karl to the discussion as well, as he’s not yet on this forum.)

Hi @imagejan and @rhjpires,

Yes, currently working on Intelligent Acquisition with KNIME driving µManager. I call the project µmKNIME (forked from MMRestServer).

However, what I am doing can be driven by anything that can use URLS. A simple text file loaded by your favorite browser should allow execution of µManager commands.

But, I am in the process moving the code from µManager 1.4 to 2.0. Not easy since they made a ton of internal changes that do not work well with REST Server also I have limited time to work on this.