ImageJ for seedlings length measurement less than 0.4 cm

Hi,

I am new to ImageJ software. I want to measure the seedlings length that are less than 0.4 cm. Could anyone suggest me if I could use ImageJ to measure such length accurately?

Thanks

Good day,

in order to help you we need at least one typical (not best) raw image in the original TIF- or PNG-format. No JPG-format though, because JPG introduces artifacts! You may also post images as Zip-archives.

Furthermore, we need to know how you define the desired length with respect to the specimen.

Please be precise in your explanations because computers have difficulties to deal with fuzzy definitions.

Regards

Herbie

Hi Herbie,

Thanks for your reply. Do you mean JPG formats are not good format for ImageJ?

Exactly, JPG-compressed images are unsuited for scientific analyses because JPG-compression is lossy and introduces artifacts that can’t be removed.

Regards

Herbie

Hi Herbie,

I am sorry if I am asking a very basic question.
I had used jpeg format to measure the seedlings length with ImageJ. Since I used jpeg, was the measurement not accurate?

I had used jpeg format to measure the seedlings length with ImageJ. Since I used jpeg, was the measurement not accurate?

I can’t answer your question, because I don’t know how you analyze the images and how accurate your measurement must be. If you are mainly interested in geometric properties, JPG-compression may not dramatically influence measurements but it depends on spatial resolution of the images as well …

Please show images and explain in detail which processing steps lead to the final results.

Reards

Herbie

Hi Herbie,

Here is how I did the measurements with ImageJ;

Steps followed;
Ruler scale was set to pixel scale using straight line.
Free hand tool was selected to measure the length.

So, where is your problem (except for the JPG-issue) if you do the measurements in your images by hand?