Measuring spore size: is there a quicker way (or macro) for measuring?

Hi there,

I’m quite new to imagej and don’t know much but I’m currently measuring spore length via imagej using the straight line tool/setting my scale etc. Each spore takes two clicks (one at start of spore and one at end). As i have 20,000+ spores to count, is there a quicker way? Or a macro i can run that i could do a single click for the program to recognize the size/shape and take the measurement?

Hopefully this makes sense and i’ve explained it enough. This is for my honours so any help will be much appreciated!

Jade

Hello Jade

It sounds a little bit involved, so I think you’ll need to provide a sample image. It is quite possible somebody can help though.

Cheers
Matt

Sample image of the spores?

Thanks for your reply

Yes, a sample image of the spores. This gives us an idea of the sort of images you are looking at. Not everybody on this list is an expert in spores and providing a typical example (not the most perfect image) will help us to help you.
Preferably you upload a png or tiff (although with uploading tiff there were some difficulties in the past; please report difficulties if you encounter them).

Hopefully this has uploaded properly?

Thankyou :slight_smile:

Yes, much better. Next question from a spore-newbie: what do you click? There is a lot to see and to segment in this image.
How do you classify manually what is of interest and what is not. E.g. do you click every object, exclude below or above a certain size, the figure 8, include or exclude those with a tail, the circular ones, the ones that touch?
If the figure-8: where do you click; the centers of the circles that make up the 8, the waist or the longer axis? If (only) those with a ‘tail’ are to be measured, what do you click in those?
What do you do with the lump shown near coordinate (1656,417)?
And the one near (1131,1218)?