Measuring wall thickness of plastic extruded sample

Hi there,
I work for a manufacturing industry producing cables. During the extrusion process of plastic material, we need to check if the product has the characteristics requested by the client. One of the most important parameter is the wall thickness. To check it, we bought a digital microscope to capture a snapshot of a product sample. The first image attached is the raw snapshot, the second one is the image after the threshold has been adjusted. What I need to measure is:

• The maximum wall thickness;
  • The minimum wall thickness;
  • The mean wall thickness (as per international norms of the sector, the mean is calculated using 4 random wall thickness values, excluding the maximum and the minimum, but also a generic average value is ok).

In the future the above measurements should be automated as possible through a macro, because they should be done by an operator during the extrusion process.

I am very new to ImageJ and I am baffled with the amount of documentation and I am a bit lost, I would appreciate if someone could give me some hints on how to implement the above measurements; also some references to specific piece of documentation to read would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance,

Determine average width of irregular line
Vertical Caliper Distance?
Cleaning an image from "noise"

Hey @gio

Take a look at this older Forum thread:

I think the info to get the measurements you want will be in there - so you can use MorpholibJ’s Geodesic Distance Transform functionality.

Give it a go… and let us know if you have more specific questions. :slight_smile:

Good day Gio,

you may consider using the polar transformation.

See these threads:

Here is a first attempt:

From the transformed image you may easily get the measures, e.g. by evaluation of the horizontal profiles of the transformed image.

Finally please don’t use JPG-compressed images. Lossy compression introduces artifacts!

Good luck