Normalization of fluorescence images

measure
thresholding
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd54872ab80> #<Tag:0x00007fd54872a4a0>

I am new to ImageJ and I am seeking a bit of clarification about how to quantify my fluorescence images. I have performed an experiment with two treatments and I want to quantify the fluorescence intensity for both treatments to compare them. Here is a simplified version of what I did:

1. Image > Adjust > Threshold > Auto > Set
  2. Analyze > Set Measurements > “check” limit to threshold
  3. Analyze > Measure

I then compared the mean that was returned for each treatment. However, I noticed that the means returned for my images relatively equal even though there was a visible difference in fluorescence intensity on the actual raw images. I also noticed that the MinThr and MaxThr for the images were very different and I decided to perform min max normalization between 0-1 to make the means more comparable.

Example:
Image 1
Mean= 840.529
MinThr=423
MaxThr=1708

Image 2
Mean=812.471
MinThr=492
MaxThr=2437

Is it correct to perform the min max normalization??

Hello Olivia, can you post the two example images you mention?

Hi Svere,
I have posted examples of Image 1 and Image 2:

First of all, I am sorry for responding and then not answering again untill now! I have been very busy and kind of forgot this post but; I had some time today.

So I must admit I don’t quite understand how you did this, it might be the easier way to do it. Also I think you should compare each treatment to control, rather than directly to each other (image of the cells before and after treatment, for each treatment, and then compare the relative effect). But this is how I would have done it for the analysis anyhow:

I don’t like measuring the whole image and taking the mean after thresholding for reasons. So what I did as simple as possible, is the following: