Particle tracking in video(s)

object-tracking
tracking
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb881c15250> #<Tag:0x00007fb881c14c10>

Hi all,

I was hoping that someone would be able to give me a few pointers with regards to object tracking as I am a novice with regards to this area (I usually work on ‘still’ objects in micro-CT volumes, which are much easier!).

What I have are videos of particles settling in water; I’ve attached a few still frames that show what I’m dealing with. What I’d like to do is to track the particles as they settle, and measure the velocity at which each of these particles is moving. I’d also like to extract some basic quantitative information regarding the particle (e.g., size, shape, grey-scale range, angle of at which particles are settling etc.). I have a problem that some particles are outside the focal area of the camera, and so are out of focus and appear ‘fuzzy’. These out of focus particles I would like to exclude from quantification/measurement of settling.

Would anyone be able to suggest a plugin I could use? I know there are a couple out there and have begun to have a bit of a play but am not sure which one would be best for what I want to do…

Thanks,
John

Instead of attaching individual files I’ve uploaded a link to a Dropbox folder containing a section of the movie

J

Hello,

Trackmate looks like the perfect plugin for this kind of video. Before running it, you should invert the pixels intensities and maybe do a Gaussian filter in order to smooth the noise.

Here you’ll find all you need for installation and usage of Trackmate: https://imagej.net/TrackMate

Hi @hadim,