Remove overlap and out-of-focus particles

Hello everyone,

I am a very new user of ImageJ and am learning how to use ImageJ to analyze mud aggregates. My experiments aim to calculate particle size distribution of different concentrations (from 25 to 400 mg/L).

There are two main problems. First, at higher concentration (200 mg/L and above) the number of overlap increases significantly. Second, I do not know how to remove the out-of-focus particles. Below are the code and the images that we are using.

For problem 1 (overlap) we use Circularity range from 0.09-0.65 to remove overlap. This is because from statistic data we realized that this is the range of a typical aggregate in our experiment. Yet, it did not do a good job (at higher concentration).

For problem 2 (out-of-focus) I still have no idea how to deal with it. Scouring the forum, I end up with two potential solutions: 1) using “Find edges” and 2) using Trainable Weka Segmentation. Unfortunately, as a newbie I do not know how to integrate it into our code.

I think the two problems that I have are quite typical and I am afraid that I might miss some of the very fundamental knowledge/technique to deal with it.

Could anyone please help me with more information/method to solve these two problems? I hope it is not too much to ask if you could also modify the code for me?

I have to convert images to *.tiff to be able to upload them. The code runs with images in *.bmp. If you cannot access the images, please follow this link.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B7-fnibR1d38al8zLVdTMWt5eE0?usp=sharing

I extremely appreciate it.

Duc.

setBatchMode(true);
run("Set Measurements...", "area min perimeter bounding fit shape redirect=None decimal=4");
dir1=getDirectory("startup");
list1= getFileList(dir1);
for (i=0; i<list1.length; i++) {
   dirmain=dir1+list1[i];
   dir2=substring(dirmain,0,lengthOf(dirmain)-1)+"/" ;
   list2= getFileList(dir2);
   for (j=0; j<list2.length; j++) {
      open(dir2+list2[j]);