Scripting Graph Cut

beanshell
scripting
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fb87d6b4fd0> #<Tag:0x00007fb87d6b4e90>

Hi guys,

I was having a look on the GraphCut plugin on the wiki and source code on github and I would like to use it via beanshell scripting. I have some questions about that and I would really appreciate sharing your experience with this.

1. Given an image stack as input. Am I correct, that the current version of GraphCut builds an isolated graph for every slice of the image stack (like a batch process)? or performs it a 3D graphcut?

2. In this mailing list conversation it was said to be a one-liner. I’m relatively new to to beanshell scripting and couldn’t figure out how this one-liner would look like, can someone point me out how I can call the public function ‘processSingleImageChannel’ from the file Graph_Cut.java and which classes I have to import in the script?

I guess I have to define an object first, right?, and then run the new command. However, this gives me an error that the command could not be found.

gc = processSingleChannelImage(image, edge, dataWeight, pottsWeight, edgeWeight, seg);
gc.runCommand(image, edge, dataWeight, pottsWeight, edgeWeight, seg);

Thanks for your help!
Cheers,
Chris

Hi @cbe,

1. You seem to be right that this plugin performs many 2D graph cuts rather than one 3D graph cut, since the code for an image stack repeatedly calls the method for 2d.. (I think this is incorrect, and that it does a 3D graph cut, see below).

2. Your issue seems to be that you need to call processSingleChannelImage on a Graph_Cut object. I think this will do the trick (but havn’t tested):

import graphcut.Graph_Cut;

gc = new Graph_Cut();
gc.processSingleChannelImage(image, edge, dataWeight, pottsWeight, edgeWeight, seg);

This will write the result into the ImagePlus that you pass as the final argument (“seg”).

Let us know how it goes,
John

Editing of thread-contributions after replies

Hi John,