Segmentation settings for TWS

weka
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd546ebe1f0>

Hi!

I am new to imageJ and I would like to use the (amazing) Trainable Weka Segmentation plugin to quantifiy the total area of red and green pixels, compared to the background in each picture (similar to this example Quantifing Weka Output).

My red and green pixels are sediment particles covered with fluorescent pigment, photographed under UV light.

I managed to train the classifier on a stack of croped images by choosing “Gaussian blur” and “Difference of gaussians” but it’s quite difficult to understand what all the segmentation settings do (also after reading the wiki pages http://imagej.net/Trainable_Weka_Segmentation).

Can someone recommend improved sementation settings for my pictures? Here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8ffai020jppk1s9/AADhcVBgsxUOyn6qdsQj77GEa?dl=0 are examples and segmentation results of the first three pictures. I also added the classifyer.

Thanks for any advice!

Hello @JJerney and welcome to the ImageJ forum!

I think the “Gaussian blur” and “Difference of gaussians” features (together with the implicit HSB features of the color images) should be enough to get a proper segmentation. In my opinion, the key is to trace enough samples that are between red and green, green and blue, etc. This is an example of a segmentation I tried using the same features as you did and a cropped version of one of your images:

Result:

What do you think?

Hi iarganda!

Thanks for your support and sorry for my delayed reply.

I think your result is quite good, but I would like to get a better result for example for the red areas in the top right corner of your classified image. Can I improve my classifier by further training? I am afraid to overtrain the classifier. How do I know if I trained enough or already too much?

Thanks!