Skeletonize Remove or Prune short end segments

skeleton-analysis
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd541fb9208>

Hi everyone,

I’m trying to use a macro to count the number of intersections or junction points in a starting image. I get the image below after thresholding and dilating to remove noise before running “Skeletonize (2D/3D)”. Afterwards I can analyze with “Analyze Skeleton (2D/3D)” and get the number of junctions in the image.

However, I need to remove the small endpoint noise branches before I run the analyze plugin. Image below shows where I’m at just before analyze plugin, and the small endpoint branches to be removed circled in red. Any help on how to do this would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Hello @Ficus and welcome to the ImageJ forum!

In this post we explained how to remove branches by length using a script. I hope it helps!

ignacio

Thanks ignacio!

Took a bit as I’m new to scripts, but works perfectly now when I call the script manually.

Now trying to call the script from my preexisting ijm macro. I’ve been trying runMacro() and eval functions but keep coming up with errors. Is that the right direction to keep trying or is there a different way?

Thanks!

The easiest way is to put the script into a subfolder of the ./scripts/ directory of your ImageJ installation, so that it will show up in the menu after restarting ImageJ (e.g. ./scripts/MyMenu/My_Pruning_Script.bsh).

You will then be able to record the command with the macro recorder as usual, yielding something like run("My Pruning Script", "image=Skeleton threshold=3.0")

Thanks Jan

I can install like you recommend into ImageJ, but it doesn’t seem to install in Fiji. Unfortunately, I have only gotten the script to work in Fiji (it errors out in ImageJ). No matter what folder I put it in in Fiji directory or if I install it inside Fiji I can’t get it to ever appear as an option in the plugins menu.

I’m guessing I’m doing something stupid wrong?