Straighten image and crop within predefined rectangle

Hello all,

I would like to do particle count analysis and would like to crop to a rectangle within the original image.

I found a discussion titled “Crop image between two lines” which has helped me somewhat. In this case the image was only cropped vertically. I would like to crop in the horizontal direction as well. I’m new to imageJ and don’t quite understand the coding enough to pull this off. In addition, many of my images will require some straightening before the crop. (A simple rotation would be sufficient, but I need to automate this).

Any help would be appreciated!

Hi Tom,

Welcome to the forums!

This is definitely a good task to begin on. Use the links below to educate yourself a little bit on ImageJ macro programming and I’m sure you can tackle this problem with ease. It also requires knowing what to do to process the images as well, but you have a really good example here.

• Introduction to Macro Programming in ImageJ - You can use the macro recorder (Plugins > Macros > Record…) to find out how to code the actions that you are doing in ImageJ, then you can write a simple script.
  • Built-in Macro Functions - All of the pieces of code for other useful functions in ImageJ that you might not be able to find from the macro recorder.

With regards to your problem, as the rectangular border and particles are very well contrasted to the rest of the image, we can ‘threshold’ the image to leave us with just the black objects. To do this, I converted the image to 8-bit (from RGB; Image > Type > 8-bit). Then, I used the default threshold (Image > Adjust > Threshold…) to make the image black and white (binary) where the objects are black on a white background.