Threshold macro gives different result on same pic every time

macro
fiji
thresholding
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fd541e7d718> #<Tag:0x00007fd541e7d510> #<Tag:0x00007fd541e7d330>

Hi everybody,

I am new to imageJ and currently working to develop a way to detect areas (in this case jellyfish) from picture frames in order to count them. I am using the color threshold method and this macro:

run("Invert");
run("Color Threshold...");
// Color Thresholder 2.0.0-rc-61/1.51n
// Autogenerated macro, single images only!
min=newArray(3);
max=newArray(3);
filter=newArray(3);
a=getTitle();
run("HSB Stack");
run("Convert Stack to Images");
selectWindow("Hue");
rename("0");
selectWindow("Saturation");
rename("1");
selectWindow("Brightness");
rename("2");
min[0]=113;
max[0]=255;
filter[0]="pass";
min[1]=0;
max[1]=242;
filter[1]="pass";
min[2]=15;
max[2]=180;
filter[2]="pass";
for (i=0;i<3;i++){
  selectWindow(""+i);
  setThreshold(min[i], max[i]);
  run("Convert to Mask");
  if (filter[i]=="stop")  run("Invert");
}
imageCalculator("AND create", "0","1");
imageCalculator("AND create", "Result of 0","2");
for (i=0;i<3;i++){
  selectWindow(""+i);
  close();
}
selectWindow("Result of 0");
close();
selectWindow("Result of Result of 0");
rename(a);
// Colour Thresholding-------------

run("Color Threshold...");
run("Create Selection");
roiManager("Add");
roiManager("Split");

roiManager("Measure");

Now, more just by chance, I discovered that every time I run this macro I get a different result. It’s not repeatable and I have different values or number of results every time, even if I close everything and start again. How is that possible if I’ve set the parameters, they should be working the same every time or am I missing something here?

Thanks so much in advance!

Ado

@ado

Welcome to ImageJ and the Forum!

Would you mind attaching an image that you use to run this macro? That way - we can try to reproduce your results exactly as you are doing…

eta

Why do you invert the image?