Using ImageJ to automate nest counts

I have used ImageJ threshold to count flocks of birds before. I was hoping to do the same with nest counts. One of my biggest problems is the eggs are often the same color as the substrate, this are ground nesting beach birds. Is there another way other than threshold to get to the same goal?

The attached photo will give you an idea of how well this eggs blend in to the background.

Sorry I am new to this program and I’m hope someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Zak

Good day!

I have used ImageJ threshold to count flocks of birds before.

Sorry I am new to this program […]

??

[…] how well this eggs blend in to the background.

I think this was nature’s idea …

What about the temperature of the eggs, i.e. how do infrared images look like?

Regards

Herbie

I see you have question but ?? doesn’t help me to explain in more detail, because I do not know what you are asking.

Yes that is nature’s idea. But I wanted to give the group prospective.

I have you used ImageJ to count flocks of birds by using the threshold tool to isolate the darker patterns of birds and then ran analyze particles to give me a count. But since there isn’t much contrast between the eggs and the substrate I am wondering if there is a different tool that is better suited for the task. There is a possibility that temperature may show the nest but not always. Plus I do not have a thermal camera. More then likely the eggs will show cooler then the surround area, since this will take place in the middle of summer. But the colony might not all be incubating at them same time, making those nest the same temp.

The attached image is of wooden eggs that are the same size/shape and coloration as the intended target and a decoy. So they will show no heat.

Thanks,
Zak

I see you have question but ?? doesn’t help me […]

It’s just to point out that you appear not so new to the program.